Welcome to 49 Cornwallis Street, an architectural gem, built in 1829 in late Georgian style, for Martin Oxner, a local merchant. Around 1870 the home was owned by Stephen Finck, a magistrate and high sheriff of the county. It was around this time that the home was renovated, with the addition of two Scottish dormers and larger windows. The home sits grandly on a double corner lot within the World UNESCO Site, looking out over the church square of St. John’s Anglican and views of the harbour from the second and third levels. A neighbourhood which showcases some of the best of Lunenburg’s historic architecture. Presently the home is two flats, which can easily be converted back to a single family home, simply by unlocking a door between the two units. Step through the double doors into the Foyer, a few steps lead to the symmetrical layout. Each level offers four spacious corner rooms with large windows flooding the home with natural light. A chimney stack at each end of the house housed seven fireplaces. Large walk up attic with harbour views would make a wonderful studio space. Landscaped fenced yard with plenty of space for gardening, two driveways. Short stroll to town centre and Lunenburg’s colourful working waterfront.
NSAR IDX Reciprocity listings are displayed in accordance with NSAR's IDX Agreements and property information is provided under copyright© by the Nova Scotia Association of REALTORS®. The above information is from sources deemed reliable but it should not be relied upon without independent verification.